National Student/Parent Mock Election logo

The John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum is the state coordinator for the National Student/Parent Mock Election for Massachusetts. This voter education program actively engages students in grades K-12 in state and national campaigns, and emphasizes the importance of voting and the power of their ballots.

Mock Election Day is Thursday, October 30, 2014. As state coordinator, the Kennedy Library:

  • Distributes age-appropriate curriculum packets for you to use in your classroom. They include biographical information about the candidates, their positions on the issues, and classroom activities.
  • Sends voting ballots and voting information the week prior to Mock Election Day.
  • Answers any questions you have during the election and voting process.

On October 30th, students will cast their vote for the candidate who they believe should be the next governor of Massachusetts. Teachers will tabulate the results for their classes, and report them to the Kennedy Library, who will announce the results of the election.

Massachusetts educators may register by downloading the brochure, or by emailing with their school’s information. There is no deadline, though early registration is encouraged.

Schools outside of Massachusetts can find out how to register for this program at

See how Massachusetts students voted in past elections:

2012 Presidential Election

Barack Obama (D) 45,939 68.44%

Mitt Romney (R)

18,983 28.28%
Gary Johnson (L) 890 1.32%
Jill Stein (G-R) 1,314 1.95%
Write Ins 62 0.01%
 67,118 total votes

The results for all races are available here.

Visit our photo gallery to see how Massachusetts students prepared and celebrated Mock Election Day in 2012. 

2010 Gubernatorial Election

Deval Patrick (D) 6,289
Charlie Baker (R) 5,645
Tim Cahill (I) 2,654
Jill Stein (G-R) 1,382
Write Ins 3

2008 Presidential Election 
Barack Obama (D) 59,974
John McCain (R) 26,307
Ralph Nader (I) 1,606
Write Ins 1,052
Cynthia McKinney (G) 565
Bob Barr (L) 362
Chuck Baldwin (C) 307

2006 Gubernatorial Election

Deval Patrick (D) 8,902
Kerry Healey (R) 5,455
Christy Mihos (I) 1,781
Grace Ross (G-R) 1,546
Write Ins 0

2004 Presidential Election
John Kerry (D) 40,929
George W. Bush (R) 26,346
Ralph Nader (I) 2,850
Write Ins 223
David Cobb (G) 195
Michael Badnarik (L) 127
Walt Brown (S) 84
Michael Peroutka (C) 2