Items per page:
Sort by:
  • Digitized Photographic Image
    Caroline Kennedy and Leymah Gbowee

    Caroline Kennedy presents the Profile in Courage Award to Leymah Gbwoee and the Women of Liberia, May 18, 2009.

  • Webpage
    Veronika Scott 2012

    Two years ago, Veronika Scott, then an industrial design major at Detroit’s College for Creative Studies, began working on a class assignment: “Design to fill a need.” She spent months at a community shelter, learning about the needs of the homeless men and women she met. In particular, she was struck by the needs of those who preferred sleeping on...

  • Digitized Photographic Image
    Caroline Kennedy and Women of Liberia

    Caroline Kennedy pictured with the Women of Liberia: Leymah Gbowee, Viaba Flomo, and Janet Johnson Bryant, Profile in Courage Award recipients, May 18, 2009. Gbowee and her collegues risked their lives to stop the cycle of violence and oppression that had kept dictators and warlords in power for decades.

  • Webpage
    Henry Gonzalez (1994)

    On September 11, 1994, the fifth Profile in Courage Award was presented to U.S. Congressman Henry B. Gonzalez of Texas, Chairman of the House Banking Committee, who launched a series of dramatic hearings on the savings and loan crisis, which resulted in far-reaching legislation to clean up the mess and reform the industry. Charles Keating was convi...

  • Webpage
    Lateefah Simon 2010

    Lateefah Simon, 33, has advocated tirelessly on behalf of communities of color, youth and women since her teenage years. At age 15, she joined the Center for Young Women's Development, an outreach organization led by young women to provide peer-to-peer support to at-risk girls and young women in San Francisco. Simon began as a volunteer and eventua...

  • Webpage
    Giovanna Negretti 2008

    Giovanna Negretti, 37, is the co-founder and executive director of Oiste?, established in 1999 to provide Massachusetts Latinos with the tools and training to enter public service. The organization was founded in response to concern about the underrepresentation of Latinos in public decision making roles. While its original goal was to provide non-...

  • Digitized Moving Image
    A Conversation with Judge Nancy Gertner

    Judge Nancy Gertner discusses her new book, In Defense of Women: Memoirs of an Unrepentant Advocate, with Boston Globe columnist Brian McGrory.

  • Webpage
    Sima Samar (2004)

    In 2002, Sima Samar became the first women's affairs minister in Afghanistan's post-Taliban interim government. Prior to her appointment, Samar had dedicated her life to the preservation of basic rights for women and girls in Afghanistan. She fled her country in 1984 during the Soviet ocupation and moved to the border town of Quetta, Pakistan, wher...

  • Webpage
    Zainab Salbi 2007

    Zainab Salbi founded Women for Women International in 1993 to help women in war-torn regions restart their lives in ways that are independent, productive, and secure. The organization connects American women with women in war-torn regions through a tiered sponsorship program that begins with direct financial and emotional support, and leads to grea...

  • Webpage
    Lisa Madigan 2005

    When she took her oath of office in 2003, Lisa Madigan became the first woman ever to hold the position of Illinois Attorney General. At the age of 39, she serves as the state’s chief consumer advocate and law enforcement officer. Ms. Madigan has spearheaded efforts leading to the passage of more than 30 legislative initiatives since she took offic...

Items per page:

Search powered by Oracle Endeca ®.

Online Search Tips

2009 Profile in Courage Award recipients Leymah Gbowee, Vaiba Flomo and Janet Johnson Bryant

2009 Profile in Courage Award recipients Women of Liberia Peacemakers Leymah Gbowee, Vaiba Flomo and Janet Johnson Bryant, May 18, 2009.

2009 Profile in Courage Award recipients Women of Liberia Peacemakers Leymah Gbowee, Vaiba...

KN-C17578. President John F. Kennedy Presents National Geographic Society’s Gold Medal to Jacques Cousteau

President John F. Kennedy presents the National Geographic Society’s Gold Medal to Captain...