Items per page:
Sort by:
  • Webpage
    Charles Price (1997)

    Judge Charles Price, a circuit court judge in Montgomery, Alabama, was honored in 1997 for his devotion to the principles of the American Constitution that compelled him to rule that a fellow circuit court judge's courtroom display of the Ten Commandments for religious purposes was a violation of the First Amendment. In 1995, Etowah County (Alabama...

  • Webpage
    Henry Gonzalez (1994)

    On September 11, 1994, the fifth Profile in Courage Award was presented to U.S. Congressman Henry B. Gonzalez of Texas, Chairman of the House Banking Committee, who launched a series of dramatic hearings on the savings and loan crisis, which resulted in far-reaching legislation to clean up the mess and reform the industry. Charles Keating was convi...

  • Webpage
    Nickolas Murnion (1998)

    Garfield County Attorney Nickolas Murnion successfully prosecuted Montana's fiercely anti-government “Freemen” for advocating terrorism, and rallied his small community to stand up to the extremist hate group. In March 1994, the Freemen posted a $1 million bounty for the arrest and conviction of Murnion and several others who were involved in the f...

  • Webpage
    Stacey Abrams 2012

    Stacey Abrams, 38, is the first woman to lead either party in the Georgia General Assembly, and the first African-American to lead in the Georgia House of Representatives. First elected in 2006, Abrams has made a mark as a thoughtful, open-minded legislator and a master of detail in the formulation of public policy. In 2010, Georgia House Democrat...

  • Webpage
    2008 Winning Essay by Laura Schapiro

    Laura Schapiro, a senior at Indian Hill High School in Cincinnati, Ohio, was honored by Caroline Kennedy and other members of President Kennedy’s family during the May 12, 2008 Profile in Courage Award ceremony at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum in Boston for her prize-winning entry in the national 2008 John F. Kennedy Profile i...

  • Webpage
    David Baker, Michael Streit, Marsha Ternus (2012)

    On April 3, 2009, the Iowa Supreme Court made history by unanimously striking down a statute barring same-sex marriage, making Iowa the third state in the U.S. and the first state outside of New England to allow same-sex marriage. Massachusetts and Connecticut already allowed same-sex marriage at the time; California had done so before the passa...

  • The President's Job According to the Constitution

    The President's Job According to the Constitution

  • Webpage
    2012 Profile in Courage Award Honors Iowa Justices Who Legalized Same-Sex Marriage and U.S. Ambassador to Syria (May 7, 2012)

    Boston MA – Three former Iowa Supreme Court Justices who were removed from office by Iowa voters after joining a unanimous decision to legalize same-sex marriage in that state were presented the prestigious John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award™ today by Caroline Kennedy at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library. Former Iowa Chief Justice Mars...

  • Digitized Moving Image
    A New and Improved Constitution

    Kevin Bleyer, Emmy Award–winning writer for The Daily Show with Jon Stewart will discuss his new book, ME THE PEOPLE: One Man's Quest to Rewrite the Constitution of the United States of America, with Meghna Chakrabarti, host of WBUR's Radio Boston.

  • Webpage
    2012 John F Kennedy Profile in Courage Award Winners Announced (March 12, 2012)

    Boston MA – Three former Iowa Supreme Court Justices who were part of a unanimous decision to legalize same-sex marriage in that state have been named this year’s recipients of the John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award™. Former Iowa Chief Justice Marsha Ternus and former justices David Baker and Michael Streit were chosen in recognition of the p...

Items per page:

Search powered by Oracle Endeca ®.

Online Search Tips