Sort by:
  • Webpage
    Henry Gonzalez (1994)

    On September 11, 1994, the fifth Profile in Courage Award was presented to U.S. Congressman Henry B. Gonzalez of Texas, Chairman of the House Banking Committee, who launched a series of dramatic hearings on the savings and loan crisis, which resulted in far-reaching legislation to clean up the mess and reform the industry. Charles Keating was convi...

  • Webpage
    David Baker, Michael Streit, Marsha Ternus (2012)

    On April 3, 2009, the Iowa Supreme Court made history by unanimously striking down a statute barring same-sex marriage, making Iowa the third state in the U.S. and the first state outside of New England to allow same-sex marriage. Massachusetts and Connecticut already allowed same-sex marriage at the time; California had done so before the passa...

  • Webpage
    Caroline Kennedy Convenes Public Forum on Political Courage (May 6, 2003)

    Nearly fifty years have passed since the publication of John F. Kennedy’s Profiles in Courage, the Pulitzer Prize-winning homage to American political greatness. In 1989, the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation created the Profile in Courage Award to honor President Kennedy’s commitment and contribution to public service. The annual award, named aft...

Search powered by Oracle Endeca ®.

Online Search Tips

KN-C18504. Ceremony Marking the 15th Anniversary of the Fulbright Exchange Program

President John F. Kennedy speaks at a ceremony marking the 15th anniversary of the Fulbrig...