Peacemakers of Northern Ireland receive special Profile in Courage Award

Peacemakers of Northern Oreland receive special Profile in Courage Award

On December 7, 1998, the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation and the members of its Profile in Courage Award Committee presented a special John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award to eight political leaders of Northern Ireland and the American chairman of the peace talks in recognition of the extraordinary political courage they demonstrated in negotiating the historic Good Friday Peace Agreement in April 1998. The award was presented by Caroline Kennedy and Senator Edward M. Kennedy to Nobel Peace Prize winner John Hume, Social Democratic and Labour Party; former U.S. Senator George Mitchell, chairman of the peace talks; Gerry Adams, Sinn Fein; John Alderdice, Alliance Party of Northern Ireland; Malachi Curran, Northern Ireland Labour Party; David Ervine, Progressive Unionist Party; Gary McMichael, Ulster Democratic Party; and Monica McWilliams, Northern Ireland Women’s Coalition.