Recipients of the Dan Fenn Award, 1987-2001


The Dan Fenn Award for Political Leadership was established by the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum in 1987 to honor a Massachusetts elected official aged 35 years or younger who demonstrated outstanding and effective political leadership in addressing or resolving a public policy issue or need. The award is named in honor of Dan Fenn, the first director of the Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum and a former member of President Kennedy's staff.

The Dan Fenn Award for Political Leadership was given annually from 1987 to 2001 and was co-sponsored by the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum and the Massachusetts Municipal Association.

In 2004, the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation and Harvard University's Institute of Politics created the John F. Kennedy New Frontier Awards to honor young Americans under the age of 40 who are changing their communities - and the country - with their commitment to public service. The two awards are presented annually in the fall to exceptional young Americans whose contributions in elective office, and community service or advocacy demonstrate the impact and the value of public service in the spirit of John F. Kennedy.

The New Frontier Award presented to an elected official whose work demonstrates the impact of elective service as a way to address public challenges is a continuation of the Dan Fenn Award for Political Leadership.

Recipients, 1987-2001

1987 - Senator William Keating of Sharon

1988 - City Councilor Patricia Doherty of Medford

1989 - Representative Kevin Blanchette of Lawrence

1990 - Quincy City Councilor Larry Chretien

1991 - Representative Peter Forman of Plymouth

1992 - School Committeeman Brian Murray of Milford

1993 - Representative Warren Tolman of Watertown

1994 - Mayor Lisa Mead of Newburyport

1995 - Selectman James Harrington of Ludlow

1996 - Selectman Charles A. Stevens of West Boylston

1997 - City Councilor John Timothy Phelan of Lynn

1998 - Mayor Patrick Guerriero of Melrose

1999 - State Representative Rachel Kaprielian of Watertown

1999 - State Representative Barry Finegold of Andover

2000 - State Representative Jarrett Barrios of Cambridge

2001 - Mayor Anthony Galluccio of Cambridge