John F. Kennedy New Frontier Awards®

60th Anniversary of the "New Frontier" Speech

Caroline Kennedy, Jack Schlossberg, and past honorees of the John F. Kennedy New Frontier Awards, including Stacey Abrams and Pete Buttigieg mark the 60th anniversary of John F. Kennedy's acceptance speech at the 1960 Democratic National Convention.

About the Awards

The John F. Kennedy New Frontier Awards® were created by the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation and The Institute of Politics at Harvard University to honor Americans under the age of 40 who are changing their communities and the country with their commitment to public service. The awards are presented annually to two exceptional individuals whose contributions as full-time public servants in elective office, community service, or advocacy demonstrate the impact and the value of public service in the spirit of John F. Kennedy.

One award honors an elected official whose work in politics has brought significant, tangible results in response to a public challenge. The other New Frontier Award® honors an individual whose contributions in the realm of community service, advocacy or grassroots activism have had a positive impact on a broad public policy issue or challenge.

The recipients of the John F. Kennedy New Frontier Awards are role models for a new generation of public servants. They demonstrate the qualities President Kennedy embodied and admired: civic mindedness, pragmatism, vision and tenacity in identifying and addressing public challenges.

View All Recipients