Defending Democracy at Home and Abroad

For the first time ever, the John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award honored five individuals — President Volodymyr Zelenskyy, U.S. Representative Liz Cheney, Michigan Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson, Arizona Representative Russell “Rusty” Bowers, and Wandrea’ ArShaye Moss — each for their courage to protect and defend democracy in the United States and abroad.

There is no issue today more important than the fight for democracy. These honorees have placed their careers and lives on the line to protect democratic principles and free and fair elections. They embody what President Kennedy admired most in others—political courage.

On Sunday, May 22, 2022, Ambassador Caroline Kennedy and her son, Jack Schlossberg, presented the 2022 John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Awards in a live-streamed ceremony.