John F. Kennedy New Frontier Awards®

2021 New Frontier Award Recipients

The JFK Library Foundation and Harvard Institute of Politics are thrilled to announce its 2021 New Frontier Award® Winners. Judge Lina Hidalgo receives the honor for her swift response to the COVID-19 pandemic to protect the nearly 5 million residents in Harris County, Texas. Data for Black Lives Founder Yeshimabeit Milner receives the honor for her efforts using data analysis to expose systematic racism faced by Black Americans in their daily lives.

“My grandfather understood the power of young leaders to change the world. Sixty years later, Judge Lina Hidalgo and Yeshi Milner are carrying on that legacy,” said Jack Schlossberg, grandson of President Kennedy and chair of the New Frontier Award Committee. “In one of the largest counties in America, Judge Hidalgo has already brought change and progress, boldly leading through the COVID-19 pandemic by implementing important health measures before they were popular, or even acceptable. Yeshi Milner’s lifelong commitment to social change is bringing political organizing into the 21st century, using technology and data to fight racial bias and discrimination.”

Learn more about the recipients.

About the Awards

The John F. Kennedy New Frontier Awards® were created by the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation and The Institute of Politics at Harvard University to honor Americans under the age of 40 who are changing their communities and the country with their commitment to public service. The awards are presented annually to two exceptional individuals whose contributions as full-time public servants in elective office, community service, or advocacy demonstrate the impact and the value of public service in the spirit of John F. Kennedy.

One award honors an elected official whose work in politics has brought significant, tangible results in response to a public challenge. The other New Frontier Award® honors an individual whose contributions in the realm of community service, advocacy or grassroots activism have had a positive impact on a broad public policy issue or challenge.

The recipients of the John F. Kennedy New Frontier Awards are role models for a new generation of public servants. They demonstrate the qualities President Kennedy embodied and admired: civic mindedness, pragmatism, vision and tenacity in identifying and addressing public challenges.

View All Recipients