The John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award®

COVID Courage

At the outset of the pandemic, Ambassador Caroline Kennedy and her son, Jack Schlossberg, wanted to find a way to honor those on the front lines of the COVID-19 pandemic that were going above and beyond their everyday responsibilities to help those in their communities.

After a public nomination campaign, thousands of people from across the country submitted COVID Courage nominations, sharing moving stories about the commitment and sacrifice of members of their communities who put their own health at risk to help heal the sick, protect our most vulnerable, and provide critical support services. 

Learn more about the seven honorees.

2021 Profile in Courage Award

The 2021 Profile in Courage Award goes to Senator Mitt Romney for his vote to convict President Donald J. Trump in 2020, and his consistent and courageous defense of democracy. As the first Senator to have ever voted to convict a President of his own party, Senator Romney’s courageous stand was historic.

“Senator Romney’s commitment to our Constitution makes him a worthy successor to the Senators who inspired my father to write Profiles in Courage,” said Ambassador Caroline Kennedy. “He reminds us that our Democracy depends on the courage, conscience and character of our elected officials.”

Learn more about his courageous leadership.

View All Recipients

Quick Facts

Learn more about the Profile in Courage Award.

  • 53

    Total Profile in Courage Awards

  • 26

    Youngest Awardee

    Joseph Darby

  • 90

    Oldest Awardee

    George H.W. Bush

Learn more