National Student/Parent Mock Election

Fourth graders from the Betsey B. Winslow School in New Bedford, MA participated in the 2014 Mock Election.

The John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum is the state coordinator for the National Student/Parent Mock Election for Massachusetts. This voter education program actively engages students in grades K-12 in state and national campaigns, and emphasizes the importance of voting and the power of their ballots.



2020 Mock Election

This year's Mock Election will take place on October 29, 2020. The Kennedy Library will distribute curriculum packets on the 2020 presidential election and state ballot questions to all registered Mock Election participants in the state. 

Massachusetts educators who would like to take part in the National Mock Election can register their school by filling out this form and sending it to

Non-Massachusetts educators who would like to take part in the National Mock Election can find more information at


See how Massachusetts students voted in past elections:

2018 Gubernatorial Election

Charlie Baker (R) 63.9%
Jay Gonzalez (D) 31.5%
Write-In Candidates 1.8%

View the 2018 Ballot Question results.

2016 Presidential Election

Hillary Rodham Clinton (D) 24,634 50.5%
Donald Trump (R) 15,827 32.4%
Gary Johnson (L) 3,495 7.2%
Jill Stein (G-R) 2,267 4.6%
Write Ins 2,569 5.3%
  48,792 total votes

View the 2016 Ballot Question results.

Visit our photo gallery to see how Massachusetts students prepared and celebrated Mock Election Day in 2016.

2014 Gubernatorial Election

Charlie Baker (R) 5,544 51.0%
Martha Coakley (D) 4,735 43.5%
Write Ins* 601 5.5% 
   10,880 total votes

* This total includes votes for the three 3rd party candidates, Evan Falchuk, Scott Lively, and Jeff McCormick, and other write-in candidates.

View 2010 Ballot Question results.

2012 Presidential Election

Barack Obama (D) 45,939 68.44%
Mitt Romney (R) 18,983 28.28%
Gary Johnson (L) 890 1.32%
Jill Stein (G-R) 1,314 1.95%
Write Ins 62 0.01%
   67,118 total votes

View results for all 2012 races.

Visit our photo gallery to see how Massachusetts students prepared and celebrated Mock Election Day in 2012.

2010 Gubernatorial Election

Deval Patrick (D) 6,289
Charlie Baker (R) 5,645
Tim Cahill (I) 2,654
Jill Stein (G-R) 1,382
Write Ins 3

2008 Presidential Election 

Barack Obama (D) 59,974
John McCain (R) 26,307
Ralph Nader (I) 1,606
Write Ins 1,052
Cynthia McKinney (G) 565
Bob Barr (L) 362
Chuck Baldwin (C) 307

2006 Gubernatorial Election

Deval Patrick (D) 8,902
Kerry Healey (R) 5,455
Christy Mihos (I) 1,781
Grace Ross (G-R) 1,546
Write Ins 0

2004 Presidential Election

John Kerry (D) 40,929
George W. Bush (R) 26,346
Ralph Nader (I) 2,850
Write Ins 223
David Cobb (G) 195
Michael Badnarik (L) 127
Walt Brown (S) 84
Michael Peroutka (C) 2

Please note that the election results should not and cannot be used as an accurate prediction, or as the basis for an accurate prediction of real election results.